Skip to content

FringeGuru

Home arrow Archive: Earlier Fringes arrow Archive: Brighton 2012
Brighton Fringe Reviews

And that's a wrap!

The Brighton Fringe, England's largest mixed-arts festival, is over for another year.  Here at FringeGuru, our reviewers covered almost 100 shows from the 2012 programme, unearthing plenty of gems in their personal journeys through the Fringe.  On this page, you'll find our most recent write-ups, in publication order.

Looking for a specific show?  Find it in our Reviews A-Z  >>



 
Ragnarok: The Weird of the Gods
Published on Monday, 07 May 2012
5

5 stars

Upstairs at Three and Ten (venue website)
Theatre
5-6, 26-27 May, 3:00pm-4:00pm
Reviewed by Mathilda Gregory

 Parental Guidance. Under-17's must be accompanied by an adult.
 Warning: Contains strong language.
 World Premiere.
 2-for-1 tickets for Friends of the Fringe members.

In Ragnarok: Weird of the Gods, John Hinton, surely one of Brighton’s hardest-working performers, sets out to tell the story of the end of the world. According to Norse myth. As a musical. Playing all the parts himself. And he pulls off this daring feat brilliantly.

Read more...
 
Ghost Walk of the Lanes
Published on Monday, 07 May 2012
4

4 stars

MEET: The Druid's Head
Tours
1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26, 29-30 May, 7:30pm-8:40pm
Reviewed by Richard Stamp

 Family-friendly. Suitable for all ages.

Brighton’s Lanes: an historic centre, an inscrutable labyrinth, and of course, a modern-day tourist trap.  It is, in short, the perfect place for a ghost tour.  And on this entertaining trail – which packs a lot of storytelling into a comparatively short walk – we learned all about the city’s resident spooks, as we weaved our way back and forth through the squares and alleyways of the old town.

Read more...
 
Bug by Tracy Letts
Published on Monday, 07 May 2012
2

2 stars

The Warren (venue website)
Theatre
4-7 May, 5:45pm-7:05pm; 26-27 May, 7:30pm-8:50pm
Reviewed by Richard Stamp

 Suitable for age 15+ only.
 Warning: Contains flashing lights.
 Warning: Contains strong language and nudity.
 2-for-1 tickets for Friends of the Fringe members.

With its sinister arachnid motif, its cast of desperate drop-outs, and its frightening vision of just how infectious a mad idea can be, Bug ought to be a tense psychological thriller – one which speaks with eloquence for those on the margins of society, and warns of the horrors which could befall those we choose to leave behind.  Ought to be.

Read more...
 
PIGHOG on the Fringe Bali Brasserie
Published on Sunday, 06 May 2012
3

3 stars

Bali Brasserie (venue website)
Literature
4-6 May, 4:00pm-5:15pm
Reviewed by Alice Ash

 Suitable for age 15+ only.
 World Premiere.

Moss Rich: an unusual man, who at the age of 102, completely blind and partially deaf, was assumed to be ‘the oldest poet writing in England.’ Incredibly astute to the end, in 2005 he launched his poetry collection Requiem for a Typewriter, reciting the collection at its launch entirely from memory. In the last decade of his life he went on to publish three more anthologies of poetry. It’s a fantastic achievement, which A Lifetime of Love encourages us wholly to believe would not have been possible without the wonderfully unending love of his wife Milly.

Read more...
 
Trouser-Wearing Characters
Published on Sunday, 06 May 2012
3

3 stars

Marlborough Theatre (venue website)
Cabaret
3-4, 7-8 May, 7:00pm-8:00pm; 19-20 May, 5:00pm-6:00pm
Reviewed by Mathilda Gregory

 Suitable for age 18+ only.
 Warning: Contains strong language.
 World Premiere.
 2-for-1 tickets for Friends of the Fringe members.

An odd thing about the little theatre above the Marlborough is that there’s only one way in. The acts have to use the same entrance as the audience do, which can sometimes feel a bit awkward. Rose Collis had perhaps given this some thought – as her flourish through the door’s curtain, crying “knickers and trousers”, certainly threw us into the world of her show with a jolly confidence.

Read more...
 
Big Daddy Versus Giant Haystacks
Published on Saturday, 05 May 2012
preview

The Rock Inn, 7 Rock Street, Kemptown
Theatre
5, 28 May, 8:00pm-10:00pm

This show is part of the Brighton £5ringe, a parallel featival separate from the official Fringe.  Tickets cannot be booked through the Fringe box office.  Instead, see the £5ringe website for information and reservations.

If you’re over the age of about 35, Big Daddy and Giant Haystacks will need no introduction.  If you’re not, prepare to be amazed by this award-winning memoir of the glory days of British wrestling – when two ageing, overweight gladiators pretended to fight every Saturday, in front of an adoring public, live on ITV.

Read more...
 
Bane Trilogy
Published on Friday, 04 May 2012
0

preview

The Warren (venue website)
Theatre
5 May, 8:00pm-9:00pm; 6 May, 7:30pm-8:30pm, 9:00pm-10:00pm

Here’s a real treat for both theatre and cinema aficionados alike.  After winning one of our Editors’ Choice awards last year, Joe Bone’s one-man film-noir parody Bane is back for a reprise… and a rare opportunity to catch all three filmic episodes in a single weekend.  If you've never seen Bone’s cult performance, it’s surely time to find out what you've been missing; and if you missed out a part of the trilogy, well, now’s the moment to put that omission right.

Read more...
 
Fever Pitch
Published on Thursday, 03 May 2012
5

5 stars

Komedia (venue website)
Theatre
1 May, 8:00pm-10:15pm
Reviewed by Catherine Meek

 Suitable for age 15+ only.
 Warning: Contains strong language.

There’s more to Fever Pitch than football! I’ll nail my colours to the mast right now: I’m not an Arsenal fan. I’m not even a football fan. But I do know a brilliant piece of theatre when I see it. James Kermack’s solo performance is utterly magnificent - for 90 minutes (45 each way!), he held the entire audience as though in the palm of his hand.

Read more...
 
Ragnarok: The Weird of the Gods
Published on Thursday, 03 May 2012
0

preview

Upstairs at Three and Ten (venue website)
Theatre
5-6, 26-27 May, 3:00pm-4:00pm

 Parental Guidance. Under-17's must be accompanied by an adult.
 Warning: Contains strong language.
 World Premiere.
 2-for-1 tickets for Friends of the Fringe members.

In previous Brighton festivals, local performer John Hinton has delighted our reviewers under various guises. In The Origin of Species, Richard Stamp was enchanted by his gleeful take on Charles Darwin, while Mathilda Gregory found herself hypnotized by Jonny Acecraft of Spalien Acecraft. So we’re rather intrigued to experience his latest regeneration, as Norse god Loki, in his new work Ragnarok: Weird of the Gods.

Read more...
 
Morgan & West: Time Travelling Magicians
Published on Wednesday, 02 May 2012
0

preview

Iambic Arts Theatre (venue website)
Comedy
21, 23-24 May, 9:00pm-10:00pm; 22 May, 8:30pm-9:30pm

 Family-friendly. Suitable for all ages.

Magic’s moved on since we all watched Paul Daniels on TV, and the modern Fringe circuit offers more than its share of show-boating illusionists.  But in the escalating race for more blinding flashes, more thumping music and more death-defying stunts, it’s easy to sense that something’s been lost... to feel nostalgic for the gentler pleasures of yesteryear.

Read more...
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Results 71 - 80 of 100

FROM OUR ARCHIVES

These are archived reviews of shows from Brighton 2012.  We keep our archives online as a courtesy to performers, and for readers who'd like to research previous years' reviews.