Skip to content

FringeGuru

Home arrow Archive: EdFringe 2013
Reviews from the Edinburgh Fringe

Waiting for a review of your show?  We have a handful still to publish this year, mainly of shows we reviewed over the closing weekend.  They're coming in the next couple of days.

Looking for a particular review?  Find it in our A-Z list >>



 
Pull Your Socks Up, Britain! with Lotta Quizeen
Published on Saturday, 23 May 2015
4

4 stars

Bedlam Theatre (venue website)
Theatre
2-24 Aug, 9:00pm-10:00pm
Reviewed by Richard Stamp

 Parents or guardians should consider the content of this show if children are attending.

This loveably eccentric new play from last year’s Fringe darlings, DugOut Theatre, blends together the comic, the tragic and the somewhat absurd. Its shamelessly intelligent plot sees a young theatre columnist, Danny, arrive to interview an up-and-coming film director – only to discover that man himself has slightly different ideas. Along the way, Danny rekindles an old romance, visits a far-off island, and even takes on the Bard – but there’s a hint of darkness to his story too, which never quite fades away.

Read more...
 
Paul Zenon in Linking Rings
Published on Friday, 22 May 2015
4

4 stars

Gilded Balloon Teviot (venue website)
Theatre
31 Jul, 1-13, 15-26 Aug, 1:30pm-3:00pm
Reviewed by Mathilda Gregory

 Recommended for age 14+ only.

Choose Your Own Documentary, a smart show from Nathan Pennington, deftly combines film, storytelling and the choose-your-own-adventure format many of us will remember from our youth. The result is a neat, sweet show, which delivers plenty of heartwarming character despite its high concept.

Read more...
 
Reno
Published on Friday, 22 May 2015
3

3 stars

Gilded Balloon Teviot (venue website)
Cabaret
31 Jul, 1-13, 15-26 Aug, 9:00pm-10:00pm
Reviewed by Mathilda Gregory

 Recommended for age 18+ only. Venue may not permit under-18's - check with venue before booking.

I’ve really enjoyed work by Sugar and Vice I the past, and I loved the premise of this show – lovelorn songs about the ones that got away. But regrettably, this collection of sad stories didn’t quite it the sweet spot.

Read more...
 
Request Programme
Published on Thursday, 21 May 2015
4

4 stars

Bedlam Theatre (venue website)
Theatre
2-24 Aug, 7:30pm-8:35pm
Reviewed by Richard Stamp

 Parents or guardians should consider the content of this show if children are attending.

I’d describe Titus Andronicus as many things – horrifying, grotesque, perhaps a little bit ridiculous – but I’ve never previously considered that it might be properly funny. This stylish adaptation from the Smooth Faced Gentlemen draws plenty of dark humour from Shakespeare’s text, galloping faithfully through the plot with a smirk to the gallery and an ironic roll of its eyes. I’ve no idea at all whether it’s what the Bard intended – but it’s certainly served to make me look at his work anew.

Read more...
 
Secret Honour
Published on Thursday, 21 May 2015
4

4 stars

Gryphon Venues at the Point Hotel (venue website)
Comedy
5-10, 12-17, 19-24 Aug, 4:45pm-5:45pm
Reviewed by Lizzie Bell

 Recommended for age 12+ only.

The piano starts up, and the flickering projection welcomes you to the show – a show whose title was decided moments before, and whose plot is yet unwritten. This is Shhhh - An Improvised Silent Movie, and on the day I attended, we were in for a treat. i Bugiardini company gave us The Farmer: a comic tale of love, loss, poker and a cow...

Read more...
 
Requiem
Published on Wednesday, 20 May 2015
4

4 stars

Underbelly, Bristo Square (venue website)
Comedy
31 Jul, 1-15, 17-25 Aug, 2:45pm-3:45pm
Reviewed by Mathilda Gregory

 Recommended for age 16+ only.

Gráinne Maguire’s show about political ambition, democracy and her love of vulnerable men is a joyful landslide victory. With an in-built election, and the technician doing double duty as a returning officer, there’s everything a modern politics geek could wish for – in a delightful hour that drags Were You Up For Portillo? into this millennium.

Read more...
 
Sticky Digits, An audience with Pamela DeMenthe
Published on Wednesday, 20 May 2015
4

4 stars

Greenside (venue website)
Theatre
5-10, 12-17, 19-24 Aug, 10:00pm-10:50pm
Reviewed by Mathilda Gregory

 Recommended for age 16+ only.

This show was a blood-splattered gothic melodrama, full of twists and turns, that left the audience gasping with horror and laughing out of disbelief. I had a completely wonderful time – but even 24 hours later, can’t figure out if this was a deliberately over-the-top camp classic, or a piece of theatre that was just so bad it was great.

Read more...
 
Contractions by Mike Bartlett
Published on Wednesday, 20 May 2015
5

5 stars

theSpace @ Venue45 (venue website)
Theatre
2-3, 5-10 Aug, 8:35pm-9:25pm
Reviewed by Ellen Macpherson

 Family-friendly. Suitable for all ages.

You can thank Baz and Leo for bringing back the 1930s, but you can thank Braindead Theatre for making us realise that film noir... well, doesn't just belong in films. On a gloomy night in Edinburgh, the sky letting down a sprinkle of rain, you couldn't find a better show to match the mood. This classy, slick production provides one of the best nights of entertainment at the Fringe; it's a triple threat, with superb acting, dancing and singing. Dare I say it, Braindead Theatre are a company I can see in national theatres one day.

Read more...
 
James Bennison: How to be a Superhero
Published on Tuesday, 19 May 2015
4

4 stars

Underbelly, Cowgate (venue website)
Theatre
1-12, 14-25 Aug, 9:25pm-10:25pm
Reviewed by Ellen Macpherson

 Recommended for age 14+ only.

Having had a few beers with a friend beforehand, I was unashamedly thrilled when I heard the strains of trashy eighties and nineties pop music emanating from the Underbelly. There's nothing to hype you up for a show more than some cracking tunes. Featuring Celine Dion, Blondie and Bonnie Tyler, Dirty Laundry is one for anyone that loves a good dose of nostalgia. But it's not all fun and games! It’s is a surprisingly dark and deeply weird comedy, that leaves you completely unsure whether to laugh or scream.

Read more...
 
Troublesome People by Jill Haas
Published on Sunday, 17 May 2015
3

3 stars

C venues - C nova (venue website)
Theatre
6-10 Aug, 12:05pm-12:55pm
Reviewed by Richard Stamp

 Family-friendly. Suitable for all ages.

Here’s something to warm the cockles of any Fringe-lover’s heart: a show in a basement, filled with music and song, where the set consists of a giant book and the performers don horses’ heads halfway through. It’s the Canterbury Tales, Geoffrey, but not as we know it – as N10 Productions remix some of Chaucer’s greatest hits into an all-new narrative, built around a family coming to terms with tragedy and learning the healing power of love.

Read more...
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Results 11 - 20 of 335

About our star ratings

We've changed our rating system for this year.

Find out more >>

Follow our reviews!

RSS Subscribe to RSS
Twitter Follow us on Twitter

Editor's Blog

We're blogging this month about the ethics and practice of arts reviewing at the Fringe.  Come and join the discussion.

Visit the blog >>